Reval 2019: Next Phase of National Revaluation Programme Now Under Way

Last updated at 12:53 on 13/09/2017

Reval 2019 Logo

The next phase of the National Revaluation Programme - known as Reval 2019 – is now well underway. This phase will include the first revaluation of all rateable properties in the rating authority areas of Cavan County Council, Louth County Council, Meath County Council, Monaghan County Council, Tipperary County Council, Wexford County Council and Wicklow County Council. It will also include the second revaluation of properties in Fingal County Council. A separate revaluation project piloting principles of self-assessment known as “Occupier Assisted Valuation” will commence in November 2017 for properties in County Laois.

The statutory consultation process with the Minister for Housing, Planning and Local Government and the relevant Local Authorities is nearing its conclusion. In autumn 2017, once consultation is complete, the Commissioner of Valuation will sign Valuation Orders for each of the rating authority areas and the revaluation process will then formally begin.

The National Revaluation Programme is the first general revaluation of all commercial and industrial property in the State since the middle of the 19th century. Phase 1 resulted in the revaluation of all rateable properties in the Dublin, Waterford and Limerick local authority areas and in September 2017 new valuations will be published for properties in Carlow, Kildare, Kilkenny, Leitrim, Longford, Offaly, Roscommon, Sligo and Westmeath bringing phase 2 of the programme to a close. A second revaluation of South Dublin County Council has also been completed as part of this phase.

The purpose of revaluation is to bring increased transparency and equity to the local authority rating system. Following revaluation, there is a much closer and uniform relationship between the current rental values of rateable properties and their commercial rates liability. Following the first revaluation, subsequent revaluations of each rating authority area will then be carried out on a cyclical basis no sooner than five years and no later than ten years after the first revaluation, in accordance with Section 25 of the Valuation Act 2001.

Rates are a charge on the occupation of commercial and industrial property. Neither residential property nor agricultural lands are rateable and consequently are not affected by the revaluation.

The new valuations for the seven areas named above will be published in 2019 (hence the “Revaluation 2019” project name) and become effective for rates purposes from 2020 onwards.

The final phase of the National Revaluation Programme, to be known as Reval 2021, will begin in 2019 and will cover properties in Clare County Council, Cork City Council, Cork County Council, Donegal County Council, Galway City Council, Galway County Council, Kerry County Council and Mayo County Council. A second revaluation of the rating authority area of Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council will also be completed at that stage.

For further information contact Catherine Coyle on 01-8171059 or

Reval 2019 Map