Carlow and Kilkenny Revaluation Underway

Last updated at 09:46 on 28/09/2016

Revaluation will bring increased transparency and equity to local authority rating systems

Valuation Orders, which set in train the process for the revaluation of all commercial and industrial property in the Carlow and Kilkenny rating authority areas, were signed on Friday the 23rd September 2016 by John O’Sullivan, Commissioner of Valuation.

The revaluation will affect approximately 5,100 commercial and industrial ratepayers in these counties.

The revaluation is part of a national programme to modernise the rateable valuation of all commercial and industrial property in Ireland. The programme has already been completed in the South Dublin, Fingal and Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Councils and in Dublin City Council, Waterford City and County Council and Limerick City and County Council rating authority areas.

Revaluation 2017 will result in the revaluation of commercial and industrial properties in Carlow, Kildare, Kilkenny, Leitrim, Longford, Offaly, Roscommon, Sligo and Westmeath County Councils. The South Dublin County Council Rating Authority area is currently undergoing a second Revaluation having initially been the subject of a Revaluation in 2007.This brings the number of rating authority areas currently undergoing revaluation to 10.

The signing of the new Valuation Orders follows the completion of a statutory consultation process between the Commissioner of Valuation, the Minister for Environment, Community and Local Government and the local authorities in question.

The purpose of revaluation is to bring increased transparency and more equity to the local authority rating system. Following revaluation, there will be a much closer and uniform relationship between the current annual rental values of commercial properties and their commercial rates liability.

Neither residential property nor agricultural lands are rateable and consequently are not affected by the revaluation.

The new valuations for the now 10 areas undergoing revaluation will be published in 2017 (hence the “Revaluation 2017” project name) and become effective for rates purposes from 2018 onwards.

Further information:

If you are a ratepayer in either Carlow or Kilkenny County Councils contact 01 8171199 or by Email to

If you are a ratepayer in either Kildare, Leitrim, Longford, Offaly, Roscommon, Sligo and Westmeath County Councils contact 01 8171033, LoCall 1890 531431 or by Email to

The helpline is in operation from 9.30am to 5.30pm Monday to Friday, excluding public holidays.